Nugenix vs Prime Male: Which Formula Would We Choose?

NUGENIX VS PRIME MALE · COMPARISON

Nugenix and Prime Male deserve to be compared on the formulas you would actually buy. Here we assess their different strengths, then explain why Testogen Ultimate is our overall preference.

Published by Testogen. We have a commercial interest in the recommendations below, including the featured alternatives. This is a formula-and-research assessment, not a personal-use test or an independent laboratory comparison.

OUR VERDICT

Our overall pick: Testogen Ultimate

Testogen Ultimate is our overall preference for the 13-ingredient combination and premium mineral forms. Prime Male remains a close alternative, with more KSM-66 and nettle by labelled weight. We would not hide those strengths to make Testogen's case: the complete formula and clean-label approach are the reasons for our recommendation.

Explore Testogen Ultimate
Testogen Ultimate, one-month supply
13 active ingredients
4 capsules per daily serving

A short blend versus a more detailed formula

Prime Male is the stronger option of this pair for a buyer who wants a detailed, broader formula. Its published amounts identify KSM-66, D-aspartic acid calcium chelate, magnesium, B6, K2 and nettle individually. Original Nugenix provides only a combined total for its three-ingredient complex.

Nugenix deserves credit for including Testofen and methylcobalamin B12. The limitation is that its Testofen amount cannot be matched to a study from the shared blend total. A named extract is useful information, but a named extract plus its individual amount is more useful. 1

Testogen Ultimate is our overall preference for the 13-ingredient combination and premium mineral forms. Prime Male remains a close alternative, with more KSM-66 and nettle by labelled weight. We would not hide those strengths to make Testogen's case: the complete formula and clean-label approach are the reasons for our recommendation.

What Nugenix offers

Original Nugenix combines a 2,103 mg proprietary blend with B6, B12 and zinc. Testogen Ultimate takes the more transparent route of stating the amount of every active ingredient separately.

The 2,103 mg number is shared between citrulline malate, Testofen and tribulus. It does not tell us the amount of any one of them. That prevents a reliable match between Nugenix's Testofen amount and a clinical trial's 600 mg daily regimen. 1

This is a disclosure limitation, not proof that the blend cannot have any effect. Testogen's separate amounts simply make the formula easier to evaluate without guessing.

Amounts refer to the stated serving for each product, not one capsule. Extract weights, raw-herb equivalents and elemental mineral amounts are different measurements.

Swipe the table to see every product column.

Complete active-ingredient comparison
Ingredient Testogen Ultimate
4 capsules
Nugenix
3 capsules
Prime Male
4 capsules
D-aspartic acid 2,025 mg Not included 1,600 mg; calcium chelate
Ashwagandha 200 mg; KSM-66 root extract Not included 300 mg; KSM-66 root extract
Fenugreek 100 mg; seed extract, at least 50% saponins Testofen seed extract, included in the 2,103 mg complex; individual amount not disclosed Not included
Panax ginseng 100 mg; extract, 5% ginsenosides Not included 120 mg; whole-plant extract, 5% ginsenosides
Nettle 80 mg; root extract, 10:1 Not included 160 mg; root extract, 10:1
Black pepper extract 7 mg; BioPerine, 95% piperine Not included Included; 95% piperine; online unit requires bottle confirmation
Vitamin D3 100 mcg (4,000 IU); cholecalciferol Not included 100 mcg (4,000 IU); cholecalciferol
Vitamin K2 90 mcg; menaquinone-7 (MK-7) Not included 45 mcg; MK-7
Vitamin B6 8 mg; pyridoxal-5-phosphate (P5P) 2 mg; pyridoxine hydrochloride 7.5 mg; P5P
Magnesium 80 mg; bisglycinate and citrate Not included 100 mg; citrate
Zinc 25 mg; monomethionine 1 mg; chelate Included as zinc citrate; amount requires bottle confirmation because the indexed table and percentage daily value conflict
Copper 0.5 mg; bisglycinate Not included Not included
Boron 5 mg; bisglycinate Not included 5 mg; amino-acid chelate
Vitamin B12 Not included 50 mcg; methylcobalamin Not included
Citrulline malate Not included Included in the 2,103 mg Free Testosterone Complex; individual amount not disclosed Not included
Tribulus Not included Tribulus terrestris, included in the 2,103 mg complex; individual amount not disclosed Not included
Luteolin Not included Not included 60 mg in the indexed manufacturer table

“Not included” indicates confirmed absence from the assessed formula. “Not verified” identifies a gap in the information available for this comparison; it does not mean the manufacturer hides the amount.

Testogen Ultimate: 13 active ingredients. Mineral figures are nutrient amounts, not the weight of the full mineral compound.

Nugenix: Standard Nugenix T-Booster. The 2,103 mg complex is the combined weight of citrulline malate, Testofen and tribulus, not the amount of each ingredient.

Prime Male: Prime Male Vitality. All 12 manufacturer-identified active ingredients are shown. Unverified quantities and the conflicting black-pepper unit are marked explicitly. This assessed formula uses Panax ginseng; older mucuna-containing versions are not mixed into it.

Capsule and other ingredients

Testogen Ultimate: Vegetable-cellulose capsule and NuFLOW rice-hull ingredient.

Nugenix: Other-ingredient list not verified for this version.

Prime Male: Other-ingredient list not verified for this version.

What Prime Male offers

Prime Male is one of the closer alternatives to Testogen Ultimate. It uses named nutrient forms and combines D-aspartic acid with ashwagandha and other plant extracts. Anyone expecting a simple contest between a comprehensive formula and a basic blend will miss the real decision.

Prime Male's 300 mg of KSM-66 is higher than Testogen's 200 mg. It also lists 160 mg of nettle root extract, compared with 80 mg in Testogen. Both products describe that nettle extract as 10:1. Those are useful label distinctions, even though they do not tell us how much either finished product changes testosterone.

The calcium-chelate description of Prime Male's D-aspartic acid also matters. A label-weight comparison alone does not establish an equivalent amount of free D-aspartic acid. We would not award Testogen a clinical advantage by subtracting one label number from the other. 2

What the research can and cannot tell you

Ingredient research helps explain why a formula was put together, but the extract, dose and study population need to match before applying a result. Testogen contains researched ingredients; that does not mean its finished formula has demonstrated every benefit reported in every ingredient study.

Nutrient status also matters. Zinc research does not establish that a man with an adequate intake will keep raising testosterone by taking progressively more zinc. A broad supplement should be chosen for its fit with your needs, not a promise that every extra nutrient will produce an extra hormone increase. 3

Why we favour Testogen Ultimate

Testogen brings 13 active ingredients into a four-capsule daily serving, with the amount of each one stated separately. The formula includes 2,025 mg of D-aspartic acid, 200 mg of KSM-66 ashwagandha, fenugreek, Panax ginseng and nettle root, alongside its vitamins and minerals. Boron is 5 mg per daily serving.

The forms are a deliberate part of the appeal: P5P vitamin B6, MK-7 vitamin K2, zinc monomethionine, magnesium bisglycinate and citrate, and bisglycinate forms of copper and boron. These details make the formulation easier to assess. They are not a claim that the finished product has proved superior in a head-to-head clinical trial.

The other-ingredient list is short: a vegetable-cellulose capsule and NuFLOW rice-hull ingredient. We prefer that clean-label approach. It is a practical formulation preference, not evidence that every conventional processing ingredient in another supplement is harmful.

Testogen has been developed since 2014, and Ultimate is its fourth-generation formula. That heritage matters as a record of product development, but longevity alone is not clinical evidence. Our recommendation rests on the current combination of ingredients, amounts, forms and label simplicity.

Side effects and suitability

Do not combine multiple testosterone-support blends without checking overlapping ingredients. Check that the bottle is original Nugenix.

Check the Vitality label for your market. Do not mix figures from older Prime Male labels with a current bottle.

A formula can be well specified and still be unsuitable for an individual. Review the full ingredients if you take medication, have a medical condition or already use similar supplements. Stop if you develop an unwanted reaction and seek appropriate advice.

Testogen provides 100 mcg, or 4,000 IU, of vitamin D3, at the commonly used adult upper intake level. Count other sources before adding more. Persistent symptoms that could suggest testosterone deficiency need appropriate assessment; a supplement does not replace diagnosis or prescribed treatment. 4 5

Compare the price on equal terms

Use a full daily serving and the final delivered price when comparing Nugenix with Prime Male. Check the number of servings, renewal terms and whether a headline discount requires several bottles.

We would pay for a formula because its particular ingredients and forms fit your goals, not because the front label claims a larger total or because a temporary sale makes the bottle look unusually cheap. Testogen is our premium overall choice on that basis.

Three options for different priorities

These are our editorial picks within the featured selection. Choose for your goal rather than assuming you should take the products together.

Best overall

Testogen Ultimate

Our preferred broad daily formula: 13 disclosed active ingredients, premium forms and a short other-ingredient list.

Explore Testogen
Best value in this selection

TesTotal

The lower-cost option within our featured range. Consider it when the upfront budget matters more than the full Testogen formula.

See TesTotal
For a muscle-building brief

Brutal Force DBULK

Our muscle-goal alternative, with ingredients including L-leucine and ashwagandha. This is a purpose-based pick, not proof of superior muscle gains.

See DBULK

Frequently asked questions

Which is better: Nugenix or Prime Male?

Prime Male is the stronger option of this pair for a buyer who wants a detailed, broader formula. Its published amounts identify KSM-66, D-aspartic acid calcium chelate, magnesium, B6, K2 and nettle individually. Original Nugenix provides only a combined total for its three-ingredient complex.

Why bring Testogen into this comparison?

Testogen is our recommended overall alternative. We make that commercial perspective explicit and compare its ingredients with the same attention to amounts, forms and evidence limitations used for the two named products.

Should I combine two testosterone supplements?

Not by default. Overlapping nutrients and herbs can complicate suitability and make it harder to identify the cause of an unwanted effect. Choose a suitable formula rather than assuming two products will work better together.

Our final choice

Testogen Ultimate is our overall preference for the 13-ingredient combination and premium mineral forms. Prime Male remains a close alternative, with more KSM-66 and nettle by labelled weight. We would not hide those strengths to make Testogen's case: the complete formula and clean-label approach are the reasons for our recommendation.

References

  1. Rao et al. (2016). Testofen, symptoms and testosterone in healthy ageing males.
  2. Melville et al. (2015). D-aspartic acid and testosterone in resistance-trained men.
  3. Prasad et al. (1996). Zinc status and serum testosterone levels in healthy adults.
  4. Rizzoli (2021). Vitamin D supplementation: upper limit for safety revisited.
  5. Bhasin et al. (2018). Testosterone therapy in men with hypogonadism: clinical practice guideline.